How to calibrate an LCD monitor?
  • rbmorley
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 64
    Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:13 am
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    How to calibrate an LCD monitor?

    by rbmorley » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:04 am

    I was wondering if it is possible to calibrate an LCD monitor? I have found that the photos I print look different on my LCD monitor (BenQ FP222W 22"). Are there any good software (free if possible) packages or websites that could help out?
  • avkomp

    by avkomp » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:18 am

    yep,

    is possible to calibrate a LCD monitor

    I have a spyder 2 pro that does both lcd and crt monitors
    this consists of a gizmo that is placed on the front of the screen,
    and in conjunction with the software, does the calibration.

    but many solutions exist.
    eye one etc
  • User avatar
    cowsgomoo
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1986
    Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:56 pm
    Location: Ermington, NSW, Australia D300/D700
    Contact:

    by cowsgomoo » Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:39 am

    I'm pretty sure there are some websites around that will let you calibrate your monitor by eye. I've never been to test them however. They put up a pattern and you tweek your settings until it looks right.

    The best way is as Avkomp said, with a gizmo placed on the screen that reads the screen during the test.

    Simple ones aren't that expensive and worth it in my opinion if you want consistant results.
    David

    *** PPOK ***
  • User avatar
    dm_td5
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 692
    Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:39 am
    Location: North East Arnhem Land
    Contact:

    by dm_td5 » Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:35 pm

    Spyder3 also works well. Makes a big differences
    Derek - Nikon, Manfrotto, RRS, Apple *- PPOK -*
  • User avatar
    cowsgomoo
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1986
    Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:56 pm
    Location: Ermington, NSW, Australia D300/D700
    Contact:

    by cowsgomoo » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:06 pm

    I got the Eye-One Pro. There was a deal on where you got the el cheapo model and a code to upgrade to the pro model. Looks like the built in product code gets modified when you use the special code. Then the software recognises it as the newer model.
    David

    *** PPOK ***
  • rbmorley
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 64
    Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:13 am
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by rbmorley » Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:19 pm

    Has anyone used the Pantone Huey Pro??
  • shakey
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 173
    Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:52 pm
    Location: Far South Coast NSW
    Contact:

    by shakey » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:53 am

    This website gives you a couple of tests to check your calibration.

    http://www.drycreekphoto.com/Learn/moni ... ration.htm

    Not sure about the Pantone Huey. I use Colorvision Spyder 3.
  • User avatar
    CraigVTR
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1310
    Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:37 pm
    Location: Montville, Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    Contact:

    by CraigVTR » Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:46 am

    rbmorley wrote:Has anyone used the Pantone Huey Pro??


    Yes. I used one until I recently upgraded to an xrite Colourmunki. The Huey was better than not calibrating the screen but was limited to doing one screen only and I had a continuous issue with my prints being darker than presented on screen. The colours were accurate and I got used to altering the brightness level of a shot before doing a print.

    Just checked I had the original Huey, not the Pro version. The Pro version can do multiple monitors.
    Regards
    Craig
    PPok Other pics in post OK
    So many forums, so little time.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest