Upgrade to run two monitors!!
  • User avatar
    kiwiklicks
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 190
    Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:41 pm
    Location: Brisbane / Goldcoast
    Contact:

    Upgrade to run two monitors!!

    by kiwiklicks » Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:26 pm

    Hi guys,
    Currently in the process of upgrading my old piece of C*** HP to a better system.
    No I am not buying a Mac!
    Custom Build I5 through a friend.

    I would like to run two screens and would like some advice.
    Currently I have an Acer 19" wide AL1916W that has done a good job.

    If I add another screen is it better to stay with the same size? two 19"?

    What about resolution - I find the computer adjusts to the smallest resolution and applies to both?

    Can I calibrate both screens, I have a spyder 2 express that has done an ok job of the acer.

    If I am upgrading is it worth looking at x1 HD? once again will it work having a mediocre 19" TFT and then a HD, high res ,say 23' screen beside it??

    I am sure you can all point me in the right direction.
    Speed & Wheels -LOOOVEE IT Fast
    www.jasonharrison.com.au
  • Bungy

    by Bungy » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:00 pm

    Personally I would have both monitors the same size and model, just to keep it all simple.
    But, this then depends on your budget. It may not allow for 2 x quality monitors.

    I would also consider 2 x HDD (1st for OS & programs, 2nd for data/images)
    If you do go dual montor setup, make sure your graphics card is upto the job.
    Get one large card (2GB+) instead of 2 x smaller ones(1GB+), there are still some issues with crossfire/sli.

    This might be useful if you end up with different size monitors.
    http://windows7support247.blogspot.com. ... ows-7.html

    Good luck with the project.
  • User avatar
    Chris Sitnik
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 249
    Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:33 pm
    Location: Adelaide, SA
    Contact:

    by Chris Sitnik » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:04 pm

    I think as long as you have a decent graphics card that supports multiple display... so pretty well anything from the last 10 years... you should be fine. The brother in law has a dual monitor set-up, different monitors as well.
  • User avatar
    CraigVTR
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1310
    Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:37 pm
    Location: Montville, Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    Contact:

    by CraigVTR » Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:14 am

    I have two 19" displays running off the same card and my Colour Munki does a good job of profiling both. I have also put the o/s on a separate ssd hard drive which really sped up the system, i put all my programs, documents and photos on individual separate hdds and back up to an external drive.
    Regards
    Craig
    PPok Other pics in post OK
    So many forums, so little time.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest