help choosing lens (new to photography)
  • vlt87kal
    Cadet
    Cadet

help choosing lens (new to photography)

by vlt87kal » Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:07 pm

hey guys im pretty new to all this photography buissness, i brought a basic nikon d5000 as these seem really good to learn on, iv been using the twin lens kit so far, and tripod, but im wanting to no what lenses would be best used for car photography of up to roughly 20metres and close up?? and also for scenic photos, are wide angles always best in ur opinion??
    Dug
    Senior Photojournalist
    Senior Photojournalist

by Dug » Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:39 pm

Well you made the right decision on cameras so you are obviously of above average intelligence and attractiveness ( as all nikon users are )

Personally I would be looking at an ultra wide I love my Sigma 10 20 great for close ups and can be used for those distorted car shots magazines like, as well as allowing interior shots.

have fun here beware the evil canon owners who lurk :lol:
    "Photography to the amateur is recreation, to the professional it is work, and hard work too, no matter how pleasurable it may be."

Edward Weston

( Total NIKON bigot )

PPOK
  • Nitnat

by Nitnat » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:25 am

Hi,

As Dug said, great choice on camera!

I am also in a similar position for wanting new lenses to add to my twin lens kit.
    So far, I have decided that a wide angle is my next choice. And I am currently weighing up options.

At this stage, I am personally looking to buy a Tokina 11-16 as from reviews I have found via the magic of google have swayed me that way.

I would recommend doing some browser searching yourself for a wide angle, and determining which factors are most important to yourself out of - price, sharpness, ease of use etc.
    Then, start searching for a bargain!

So far, DWI is the best price I have found for the Tokina. Now I just have to make the decision to buy my 1st ever grey import or not. :roll: