Printing question!..
  • Chalk
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:25 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    Printing question!..

    by Chalk » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:57 am

    Would a 36in x 24in print be ok at 130DPI
    Thanks in advance
    David...
  • User avatar
    Bob G
    Photojournalist
    Photojournalist
    Posts: 2236
    Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:26 pm
    Location: Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast, Qld.
    Contact:

    by Bob G » Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:45 am

    Depends what you are trying to achieve and the end purpose of your print, the viewing distance etc.

    Most would print fine art at a minimum of 240 and a norm. of 300.
    Epson printers like a native 360 if your after nil interpolation.

    Is it your own printer or are you having it done?

    If your own printer try a strip if a shop print ask them.
    Bob
    "Wake up and smell the pixels!"
  • User avatar
    Big Pix
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 978
    Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:08 pm
    Location: Lake Macquarie NSW
    Contact:

    by Big Pix » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:26 am

    ....... agree with Bob...... depends on the end result
    Cheers ....bp....

    happy for the comments but
    .....Please DO NOT edit my image.....
    http://www.bigpix.smugmug.com Forever changing
  • Chalk
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:25 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Chalk » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:31 am

    No it not off of my printer I am looking at getting it done onto some glass.
    And the viewing distance would be around 2.5-3 meters
  • User avatar
    Big Pix
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 978
    Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:08 pm
    Location: Lake Macquarie NSW
    Contact:

    by Big Pix » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:04 am

    ....... ask the people doing the image

    They must have guides for their final results
    Cheers ....bp....

    happy for the comments but
    .....Please DO NOT edit my image.....
    http://www.bigpix.smugmug.com Forever changing
  • Chalk
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:25 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Chalk » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:11 am

    I have tried that but they seem very blunt and all they keep saying is 300dpi... Is there an dslr that would do that I only have a d3100
  • User avatar
    Bob G
    Photojournalist
    Photojournalist
    Posts: 2236
    Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:26 pm
    Location: Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast, Qld.
    Contact:

    by Bob G » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:26 pm

    The dslr doesn't matter so much.

    What do you use for Post Processing on your computer?

    Photoshop,Lightroom etc will all allow you to upres. To whatever size and dpi you like and their are also plug-ins that will do a fine job of the interpolation involved in the uprezzing.
    Bob
    "Wake up and smell the pixels!"
  • Chalk
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:25 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Chalk » Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:28 pm

    Oh that makes more sense I have ps cs5... But I'm very new to it.
    How would u do it on that
  • User avatar
    Bob G
    Photojournalist
    Photojournalist
    Posts: 2236
    Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:26 pm
    Location: Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast, Qld.
    Contact:

    by Bob G » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:51 pm

    Image>Image Size>Dcument Size(width/height/resolution)>OK>Save

    PS. In the Image Size step make sure the bottom 3 boxes are ticked and select bicubic smoother for enlargements.
    Bob
    "Wake up and smell the pixels!"
  • Chalk
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:25 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Chalk » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:48 am

    Thanks a lot I'll have a play tonight when I get home

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest