Question from a another newbie
    MissB

Question from a another newbie

by MissB » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:33 am

:greets: Hi,
    I just joined the forum and I am eager to dive into this all head first once I get my hands on a camera.
    So I am hoping that I can find some guidance in here.

I’ve read a few posts from the other newbie’s and I just wanted to ask a quick question as well...
    :paparrazi:
    IM looking at buying my first DSLR this Christmas as my poor old point and shoot camera is sadly outdated and ready to live in my glove box for the rest of its days.

I am on a budget of about $1200; although I may be able push it about $300 more once I find out if I am getting a bonus at work or not this Christmas. But currently I’m working on no Bonus.

So I know nothing absolute complete beginner I’m planning on enrolling in some digital courses at my local community college as soon as the new year gets under way but I wanted to get the camera over Christmas so I can start to "play with it"
    I am happy to buy more lenses in the New Year if I am advised to.

I have been spending a lot of time reading reviews and searching and comparing cameras. :?

Originally I was going to buy a D60 w/18-55mm VR & 55-200mm VR Twin kit and if I needed different lenses I could buy them in the New Year. Price about $1099

But :doubt:

But now looking at the D80 as it seems to be a better camera and is still within my price range. So now I’m leaning towards a D80 Twin Lens Kit with 18-55mm & 70-300mm AF lens. Price about $1149

So how important is the VR?
    I am mainly going to be shooting landscapes, wildlife and some family and friends, im also planning on going to Japan on holidays in the next year so I will be wanting to take lots of photos then again prbably mainly landscapes, touristy things and people.
    Of course any advice on other lenses and or accessories I might need is greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks in advance
    Becki
    て を 打てば
    こだま に あくる
    夏の月