128gig SD Card
  • Bigfoot1966
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:49 pm
    Location: Quinns Rock Western Australia
    Contact:

    128gig SD Card

    by Bigfoot1966 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:13 am

    Hi All,

    I just recently bought two 128gig SD Cards for my Nikon D750.

    When inserted in the camera, the camera display says error.

    I have taken the cards out of the camera, and formatted them on the computer, and it is the same result (error) in the camera.

    I have googled to see if there is a firmware upgrade for the camera with no success.

    I have seen these camera been sold on ebay including 128gig SD cards, so I assume they are compatible.

    Has anyone any idea's?

    Thanks

    BigFoot1966
  • User avatar
    DJT
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1412
    Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:07 pm
    Location: Werrington
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by DJT » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:05 pm

    Where did you buy the cards ?
    David
  • Bigfoot1966
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:49 pm
    Location: Quinns Rock Western Australia
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Bigfoot1966 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:34 pm

    DJT wrote:Where did you buy the cards ?


    I bought the cards from a dodgey Chinese ebay retailer :D

    Firstly I thought I had been scammed, but when plugged into my computer, my computer sees the cards and the correct size and enables me to format the cards.

    So either the type of card is not compatible with my camera, or the camera may need a firmware upgrade as the 128gig cards are new (I think)

    Thanks

    Regards
  • Simsy
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:35 pm
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Simsy » Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:34 am

    Your camera is most likely is unable to read that size card, I happens a lot in built in card readers they build to the specs available at the time then a newer bigger card comes out and the reader cant read it. my old windows computer wont read cards bigger than 4gb but the newer apple can read 32gb.
  • Bigfoot1966
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:49 pm
    Location: Quinns Rock Western Australia
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Bigfoot1966 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:42 am

    Simsy wrote:Your camera is most likely is unable to read that size card, I happens a lot in built in card readers they build to the specs available at the time then a newer bigger card comes out and the reader cant read it. my old windows computer wont read cards bigger than 4gb but the newer apple can read 32gb.


    Hi,
    But I assume a firmware upgrade would fix that problem?
  • Simsy
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:35 pm
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Simsy » Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:10 am

    Maybe but it could be a hardware limitation but it can't hurt to try
  • User avatar
    ion_mihaila
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 89
    Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:56 pm
    Location: North Parramatta - Sydney
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by ion_mihaila » Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:06 pm

    You may try to test the card on the computer and make sure is what it says. One I had problems with a dodgy card that presented itself to the computer and the camera as 32Gb but in fact was just 8Gb. After filling up the 8Gb started to give me errors on writing and on computer I could see some weird named folders.

    Since then I test the cards with this http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Sys ... estw.shtml

    It writes until it fills, checks and reports read/write speeds. I found it very handy.
    C & C , PPOK welcome
  • Bigfoot1966
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:49 pm
    Location: Quinns Rock Western Australia
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Bigfoot1966 » Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:48 pm

    ion_mihaila wrote:You may try to test the card on the computer and make sure is what it says. One I had problems with a dodgy card that presented itself to the computer and the camera as 32Gb but in fact was just 8Gb. After filling up the 8Gb started to give me errors on writing and on computer I could see some weird named folders.

    Since then I test the cards with this http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Sys ... estw.shtml

    It writes until it fills, checks and reports read/write speeds. I found it very handy.


    Thank you,

    I shall give it ago.
  • User avatar
    Busiboy
    Site Admin
    Site Admin
    Posts: 3572
    Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:10 pm
    Location: SE Sydney
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Busiboy » Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:27 am

    As an interim measure, you could partition the card into smaller sizes, odds are your camera will only see one partition, but it will be usable.
    *PPOK*
    C&C always welcome

    Scott
  • Bigfoot1966
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:49 pm
    Location: Quinns Rock Western Australia
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by Bigfoot1966 » Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:14 pm

    Busiboy wrote:As an interim measure, you could partition the card into smaller sizes, odds are your camera will only see one partition, but it will be usable.


    Hello,

    I will try that.
    That will let me know wheter it is a card or camera issue.

    Thank you

    Regards
  • User avatar
    DJT
    Reporter
    Reporter
    Posts: 1412
    Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:07 pm
    Location: Werrington
    Contact:

    Re: 128gig SD Card

    by DJT » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:30 pm

    Busiboy wrote:As an interim measure, you could partition the card into smaller sizes, odds are your camera will only see one partition, but it will be usable.

    Hadn't heard of that one before, but makes perfect sense
    David

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest