New guy keen on landscapes
  • paulyyy

New guy keen on landscapes

by paulyyy » Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:32 pm

G'day guys my name is Paul and I reside in Brisbane south side. I studied photography at school many years ago and since then haven't touched an slr so my limited knowledge is gone haha. Decided the other day that I'd love to get back into photography as I'm a keen 4wd'er/tourer so hence the landscape interest. I purchased a Nikon D3100 with twin lens kit and was wondering what is best to shoot with being the 18-55 or the 55-200 lens. Also any suggestions on a good lens for further down the road once I learn the basics. And last but not least what should I be kitted out with eg. Lenses, filters, tripod and what not? Any advice will be greatly appreciated anks in advance :D
    Busiboy
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

Re: New guy keen on landscapes

by Busiboy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:42 am

Paul,

Sorry for the lack lustre response, we normally aren't so snobbish.

I think you posted just prior to a flurry of new posts so yours got lost.

Welcome!

The lens you have is a good one, personally I would favour the longer end of your shorter lens, but that is me.

The next lens you should look at should be a prime within your budget, one that is close to your favoured focal length with the zoom.

When shooting be conscience of your focal length and see what suits your eye.
    *PPOK*
    C&C always welcome

Scott
    Doug
    Reporter
    Reporter

by Doug » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:54 am

Hey Paulyyy

Hope you are still checking in.
    Good on you Busiboy for finding this post, 84 views is a bit poor.

I must confess I did see this one, probably when it first posted and I passed on it that time thinking someone else could better answer the Nikon related questions.
    But I should have at least said hello, welcome.
    As Busiboy said it just takes an influx of posts and you can disappear off the radar and get forgotten.