What would cause this?
  • Fusionize
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 923
    Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:58 am
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    What would cause this?

    by Fusionize » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:25 pm

    Ok, this is done on both a 400d and a 50d, same issue.

    Any ideas as to what would cause it?

    http://minuxx.net/hosts/wtf.jpg
  • User avatar
    LOZ
    Photojournalist
    Photojournalist
    Posts: 2888
    Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:48 am
    Contact:

    Re: What would cause this?

    by LOZ » Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:34 am

    Fusionize wrote:Ok, this is done on both a 400d and a 50d, same issue.

    Any ideas as to what would cause it?

    http://minuxx.net/hosts/wtf.jpg


    No idea fusionize I had it happen on the D70 in low light a few times and went away and never came back

    loz
  • User avatar
    Oneputt
    Moderator
    Moderator
    Posts: 4069
    Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:47 pm
    Location: Sitting around a campfire somewhere
    Contact:

    by Oneputt » Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:10 am

    A corrupt card is one possibility.
    "The good thing about meditation, is that it makes doing nothing respectable." **PPOK**

    www.oneputtphotographics.com
    http://oneputt.redbubble.com/
  • David Anderson
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 858
    Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:18 pm
    Location: Sydney
    Contact:

    by David Anderson » Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:33 am

    That can happen when a card is pulled while reading or downloading..
    ANSEL ADAMS ~ When words become unclear I shall focus with photographs. When images become inadequate I shall be content with silence.


    www.davidanderson.com.au
  • User avatar
    Sir Tristram
    Site Admin
    Site Admin
    Posts: 4350
    Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:04 pm
    Location: Dundas - NSW
    Contact:

    by Sir Tristram » Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:55 am

    You could be on acid whilst looking at the pic...
    John C.
    **PPOK**
  • User avatar
    bugeyes
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 413
    Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 6:37 pm
    Location: Location: Location [BNE] PP OK
    Contact:

    by bugeyes » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:33 am

    More than likely a dodgy CF card, It wouldn't be a transcend by any chance?
    Only two things are infinite,
    the universe and human stupidity,
    and I have my doubts about the former.




    ....Albert Einstein
  • Fusionize
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 923
    Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:58 am
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Fusionize » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:37 am

    Well it has happened with 2 different cards and and happens randomly.

    Not sure what brands of card the guy is using(not my camera or issue, thought I would try and help though). He has tried all different memory cards he is and it still happens. My thought is memory card also, as in all the ones he owns are screwed.
  • User avatar
    bugeyes
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 413
    Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 6:37 pm
    Location: Location: Location [BNE] PP OK
    Contact:

    by bugeyes » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:47 am

    Well I've had a 40D and a 50D and the only time I had an issue like that was with a dodgy Transcend CF card (freebee), and a fake sandisk that I bought from ebay. Now I only buy legit Sandisk card from aussie dealers and I haven't had a problem since.
    Only two things are infinite,
    the universe and human stupidity,
    and I have my doubts about the former.




    ....Albert Einstein
  • User avatar
    Sir Tristram
    Site Admin
    Site Admin
    Posts: 4350
    Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:04 pm
    Location: Dundas - NSW
    Contact:

    by Sir Tristram » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:50 am

    I have about 5 or 6 Transcend CF cards and they have been fabulous for over 2 yrs now. Cant fault them.
    John C.
    **PPOK**
  • Invictus
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 259
    Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:13 pm
    Location: Brisbane, Australia
    Contact:

    by Invictus » Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:11 am

    Sir Tristram wrote:You could be on acid whilst looking at the pic...

    Now thats one option that didn't come to mind ! :lol:

    Like others have said, I would suspect the card, reader, or the cable from the reader to the pc, having a fault or glitch.
    Does it do it when the card is read straight from the camera?
    Have you tried a different reader? Different PC?
    I would try to eliminate the peripherals being faulty before assuming it was a bad batch of cards / the camera, since the readers and cables are usually the cheapest components.
    Matt.

    "In a past life I had three arms, and two heads, and the days were 48 hours long. I'm still struggling to adjust."
  • avkomp

    by avkomp » Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:12 am

    have heard of this happening at random to a few people

    some have blamed the cf cards, others the pins in the camera,

    changing memory card brands seems to help some but not others,

    I have yet to see a definitive answer to this.

    I personally use transcends and it hasnt happened to me.

    I suspect that it may come down to a dirty pin in the camera or the card itself
    that sometimes doesnt make contact but again only theories.
  • User avatar
    heartyfisher
    Photojournalist
    Photojournalist
    Posts: 3036
    Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:29 am
    Location: Sydney, NSW
    Contact:

    by heartyfisher » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:37 pm

    another thing is if you have not formatted the card and used it straight from the packaging.. try reformatting it and see if it fixes it... where are you storing the cards? is it in a hot place?
    Moments of Light : D7K D610 18-200 150 12-24 24-70 70-200 + C&C very welcome!
    Being a photographer is a lot like being a Christian: Some people look at you funny but do not see the amazing beauty all around them - heartyfisher.
  • User avatar
    kiwiklicks
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 190
    Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:41 pm
    Location: Brisbane / Goldcoast
    Contact:

    by kiwiklicks » Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:26 pm

    I had the same issue a few years ago when i was using my 300D and 350D.
    Seemed to happen whilst transferring from card to PC.
    Using 1 gb silicon Power c/f.
    Very random and it seemed to only be while using this card.
    Now i only use extreme3 genuine sandisk cards.
    learnt my lesson,
    i lost about an hours work mid shoot.
    No complaints with sandisk but. Great cards.
  • Al
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 100
    Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:40 pm
    Location: Sydney
    Contact:

    by Al » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:17 pm

    I use Sandisk Extreme III, Sandisk Extreme IV, and a Transcend "133x". Never had this happen to me with my 400d, approaching 10,000 shots as well.

    Out of intrest was it shot in RAW or JPEG?
  • Fusionize
    Cadet
    Cadet
    Posts: 923
    Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:58 am
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by Fusionize » Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:10 pm

    from what teh guy tells me it was shot in raw.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest