For Beginners
  • kirby_lambourn

For Beginners

by kirby_lambourn » Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:52 pm

I am only a beginner to the world of DSLR photography and am struggling to get unbiased and unpretencious assistance from the photography experts :roll: (sorry to the guy at camera house but I don't have time to listen to you for half and hour while you proceed to ignore the fact that I don't have $3000 to spend on camera equipment). I have just purchased a canon DSLR 600D so I can expand on my family albums (especially the lil ones), travel photography and combine my love of painting with photography aswell. Is there anyone who could offer me some friendly advice on what lenses are the most suitable for beginners and which ones are the best for a lil bit of everything in photography. As I am only a beginning I am not very fussy and am not skilled enough to appreciate the full potential of DSLR just yet. Hopefully with some experience I will be on this website to answer future beginners questions. :?
    Dug
    Senior Photojournalist
    Senior Photojournalist

Re: For Beginners

by Dug » Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:54 pm

Do you have any lens lenses accessories at all or just the camera body ?
    "Photography to the amateur is recreation, to the professional it is work, and hard work too, no matter how pleasurable it may be."

Edward Weston

( Total NIKON bigot )

PPOK
    dm_td5
    Cadet
    Cadet

by dm_td5 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:41 pm

Here's two ways to learn but both have one thing in common - PRACTICE.

Use the scene mode on the camera. Look at what you've taken, note the settings the camera thought best to use. Change to manual and try to duplicate the shot or improve on it. Then practice what you've learnt.

The other is buy a guide book (sorry can't help with Canon) read a bit and go out and practice it, read a a bit more and have some more practice.
    Derek - Nikon, Manfrotto, RRS, Apple *- PPOK -*
    Busiboy
    Site Admin
    Site Admin