Canon 75-300
  • Sydney Portraits

Canon 75-300

by Sydney Portraits » Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:28 pm

Hi all, my name is Tom. I’m a professional photographer based in Sydney. I’ve had a Canon EF75-300 for years now. I don’t use it much for stills but I find I do increasingly for video. However, I notice sharpness (or lack of it) can be a problem – even in the f8-11 range – and with any kind of wind or movement camera shake can be disastrous.
    The lens doesn’t have image stabilizer. Has anyone used the image stabilizer version for video? Does it make a big difference?
    The other option is the L range 70-300. I’m hesitant because of the bulk and weight. Can anyone comment on this lens vs the EF version?
    Busiboy
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

Re: Canon 75-300

by Busiboy » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:41 pm

Hi Tom,

What camera are you using it on?
    *PPOK*
    C&C always welcome

Scott
    Doug
    Reporter
    Reporter

by Doug » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:06 pm

Welcome Tom.

I borrowed a Canon EF75-300 IS for the day a little while back from one of our members so I have some impression of it.
    Eden who's lens it was could give you a better idea of the IS performance I'm sure.

The L version is probably the next lens I will get, so I'm going to be a bit bias towards it.
    It's 4 stops of IS vs 2 from the non L is definitely going to give you the steady shots you want even fully zoomed I imagine.
    The L is going to be smoother for focus pulling and zoom in video. I found the action of the lens I borrowed reflected its price.

The L is defiantly heavier, though it is promoted as being a light lens by Canon for an L build.
    It is actually shorter than the non L at both ends of the zoom, but chunky in diameter.

It would be worth handling this lens first to see if the diameter and weight works for you or not, the back to front focus ring might be a deal breaker alone. (Its at the back of the lens not the front)