selt taught vs educated phtographers
  • vlt87kal
    Cadet
    Cadet

selt taught vs educated phtographers

by vlt87kal » Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:32 pm

just wondering what your thoughts r on both of these subjects..... i personally am self taught as i work ALOT when im not working im out n about with my gf but brought a camera one day now glued to here and youtube trying to find better easier ways to do shots and so on......... i personally think self taught is better as the photos are my genuine and have personality, styles........ your thoughtts?
    magnum

by magnum » Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:46 pm

I'm in the same boat but now seriously trying to develop skills and learn technique. Great to have mentors and/or be a member of a camera club to learn form others. Anyway to shorten the learning curve is OK in my books, so I reckon that doing a course or two (if you have the time) wouldn't hurt either. So I guess I don't see it as a black and (or) white issue.

There are horses for courses.
    Member:
    Australian Photographic Society
    Redlands Uniting Church Camera Club

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wetzig_photographics/sets/
  • remotebandit

by remotebandit » Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:54 pm

This is such a great topic .

I'm not taught either way yet though :p

I for one really love playing with the camera , its a passion , sometimes I even het 1 good shot out of 100 lol

I do believe a decent course you could not compare to self taught , its one thing to play with setting but to be in a class and learning how and why things do what they do is the key .

Although so goes the other way , you can do as much schooling as you like but if your not a creative person its all useless

I personally would never want to take it on as a business but would still love to do the schooling
    Dalzine
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

by Dalzine » Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:05 pm

It doesn't matter how you get from point A to point B, just so long as you get there.