remote controls
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    remote controls

    by liferider » Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:27 pm

    looking to buy a remote control, and was wondering whether anyone has played with the rc-1 and rs60e3.

    i'm looking to lock the shutter for long exposure, i wasn't able to find much information on it, and am aware that the remotes have a bulb feature, where as long as you hold the button, the shutter we keep open.

    this is not really ideal, as i dont want to hold it for over 10 minutes.

    has anyone tried these out, and is the shutter lock possbile, by pressing it once, and when you want to close it, pressing it again.
  • User avatar
    Disco
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 128
    Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:45 pm
    Location: Newcastle
    Contact:

    by Disco » Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:27 am

    Hey,

    The BULB setting is actually in your camera. If you have your camera on the M or TV settings you can scroll your wheel to the BULB function.

    Then set your camera to remote and Roberts your Father's Brother.

    You only have to fire the RC-1 once to open the shutter then press it again to close it, so you can have it on for as long as you like.

    I have an RC-1 remote and the only downside to it is that my 400D's sensor is actually on the front of the camera so you have to reach around to fire the shutter.

    Hope this helps.
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am

    ah yes, found it, but havent got the remote yet, so i have to keep holding it.

    but will be getting remote soon.

    thanks
  • User avatar
    Oneputt
    Moderator
    Moderator
    Posts: 4069
    Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:47 pm
    Location: Sitting around a campfire somewhere
    Contact:

    by Oneputt » Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:11 am

    I have the Nikon IR remote and it works in the manner you want.
    "The good thing about meditation, is that it makes doing nothing respectable." **PPOK**

    www.oneputtphotographics.com
    http://oneputt.redbubble.com/
  • User avatar
    Shines
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:19 pm
    Location: Brisbane
    Contact:

    by Shines » Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:44 am

    As I understood it, with the canon remotes, when you press the button down you can 'lock' it in place by sliding it forward. That allows the user to let go of it and walk away if necessary. You dont physically need to hold it down the whole time.

    Almost sure its is the case for the RS-60e3.
    Artifical intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:49 pm

    well i've gotten the rc-1 and am not able to use the mirror lock function.

    i've activated custom function 7, which allows me to press the shutter and open the mirror, and then press it again to close it.

    when i do it with the remote, it doesn't allow it.

    can you with the rs60e3, press it, go away and come back to it?
  • User avatar
    Disco
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 128
    Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:45 pm
    Location: Newcastle
    Contact:

    by Disco » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:35 pm

    Try switching to the 2 second release on the RC-1.

    Is the remote working without the mirror lock up?
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:38 pm

    it works fine with the 2 second release, and the normal one as well.

    the issue i'm having is it's not allowing for the custom function to work, by allowing for shutter lock, it just takes a normal photo.
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:43 pm

    i've gotten it to work, by setting it to bulb, and then doing it that way.

    is there any difference between bulb and shutter lock??
  • User avatar
    Disco
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 128
    Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:45 pm
    Location: Newcastle
    Contact:

    by Disco » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:44 pm

    When all else fails.....google.

    What camera do you have? Do you have it on the creative modes?
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:42 pm

    i've got a 400d and am using it on M, barely use any of the other modes.
  • User avatar
    Disco
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 128
    Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:45 pm
    Location: Newcastle
    Contact:

    by Disco » Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:46 pm

    Not sure then.
    I have a 400D and the mirror lock up works when I have the camera in the M mode and the remote set to the 2 second release.
  • liferider
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 75
    Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:51 pm
    Location: Melbourne
    Contact:

    by liferider » Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:28 pm

    i mean, its working on bulb feature, so i guess im getting the same thing.

    i press it once, it locks up and then press it again and then it closes. and this works fine on the remote

    but whether i enable custom fn 7 or not, it still works.
  • Al
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 100
    Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:40 pm
    Location: Sydney
    Contact:

    by Al » Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:37 am

    sounds normal to me, I've got both the RS60-E3 and the RC-1
    normally I use the bulb function whenever I want to "lock" the shutter

    with the RS60-E3 you press down on the button then there is a slider that holds the button down for you then you just slide it back when you want to close the shutter again
    with the RC-1 press to open press again to close
  • KLM
    Member
    Member
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:32 am
    Location: Adelaide, SA
    Contact:

    by KLM » Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:49 pm

    I have a TC-80N3 that I can slide to lock, walk away & leave. Purchase on ebay.
    K

    *PPOK*

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest